Guidelines

Guidelines

The Strand Magazine was founded in 1891 and, for the next sixty years, published the works of some the greatest authors of the 20th century.

In the Summer of 1891, The Strand published two stories by a then-unknown Scottish physician, Arthur Conan Doyle, featuring his ingenious detective, Sherlock Holmes. As Holmes’ popularity grew, so did that of The Strand. In the years that followed The Strand would feature the works of other mystery greats, such as Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Margery Allingham, W. Somerset Maugham, Graham Greene, P.G. Wodehouse, H.G. Wells, Aldous Huxley and many others.

It would take nearly half a century for The Strand Magazine to once again appear on the scene, with a new editor and publisher, whose main goal it is to uphold the tradition of exceptional mystery fiction for which The Strand was known.  Since 1999, The Strand has published fiction by Ray Bradbury, Michael Connelly, Jeffery Deaver, Ruth Ware, Faye Kellerman, and Alexander McCall Smith.

Our guidelines are simple:

We are interested in mysteries, detective stories, tales of terror and the supernatural as well as short stories. Stories can be set in any time or place, provided they are well written, the plots interesting and well thought.

We are interested in stories of almost any length, but preferably the 2000-6000 word range. However, we may occasionally publish short shorts of 1000 words, and sometimes we may consider even a short novella. At the moment, our payment rate for stories is $100-150. To submit a story, please provide a short message introducing yourself and listinging past writing credits. You may send works to submissions@strandmag.com

Stories written in the tradition of Stanley Ellin, Agatha Christie, and Jeffery Deaver which contain a twist are among our favorites. We are not interested in stories with explicit sexual content or repeated foul language.

We purchase first North American serial rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *